When Vains of Jenna released their debut album Lit Up/Let Down in 2006, there was far too much hype surrounding that release. It left quite a few fans with a bad taste in their mouths, many of which now think the band is overrated. Fast forward to 2009, Vains of Jenna has released their sophomore effort, The Art of Telling Lies. This CD is everything the debut record should have been and more. Everything about this CD surpasses VoJ’s previous effort. The song writing, the musicianship, and the vocals are all better than Lit Up/Let Down. Brent Woods (Wildside, Vince Neil) was the producer on this CD. It sounds like he caught the band at their best on this disc.

To me, this CD is very similar to the music that has been coming out of Sweden as of late. It is sleazy, catchy and cool.

Guitarist Nikki Kin sounds like he has been overdosing on Guns N’ Roses in his downtime. His guitar playing on this CD reminds me a lot of Slash. His playing isn’t quite to that level, but it is pretty good. I was immediately hooked with his riffs on the opening track, “Everybody Loves You When Your Dead”.

Vains of Jenna added some sleaze to their cover of Tom Petty’s “Refugee”. Aside from the vocal delivery, this is pretty much a faithful rendition of the Top Petty classic. It is a cool cover, and I think VoJ does a better job with this song than Poison did with Petty’s “I Need To Know” a couple of years ago.

I kept finding myself cranking the volume up on “Get It On”. This is one fun sleazy rocker.

“Enemy in Me” was featured on the Viva la Bands, Volume 2 last year. I thought this song was better than anything on the first VoJ CD, the first time I heard it. I am glad the band decided to add it to this CD.

Vains of Jenna slows it down for the song, “Better Off Alone”. This is a pretty cool tune that shows a different side of the band. This ought to be a hit for the band.

The Art of Telling Lies has renewed my interest in Vains of Jenna. I can only hope that I get to see the band perform some of these songs live. I am proud to have this CD in my collection, and will be getting a lot of repeat plays out of it.

1. Everybody Loves You When You’re Dead
2. Mind Pollution
3. Refugee
4. I Belong To Yesterday
5. Paper Heart
6. Get It On
7. Enemy In Me
8. Better Off Alone
9. I Don’t Care
10. The Art Of Telling Lies

Lizzy DeVine – Vocals, Guitar
Nicki Kin – Lead Guitar
JP White – Bass
Jacki Stone – Drums

Password: Plotn08


Download album from UseNet -14 Days Free Access !


More than 800 TB of files are available. Usenet was developed before the Internet and is made up of over 60,000 discussion forums (Newsgroups) on any conceivable topic, in which opinions and files (e.g. videos, MP3s, software, games and erotic contents) can be exchanged.

Buy mp3 or CD or