2010 Written On The HorizonJoey Summer is a Brazilian singer, guitarist & songwriter, who recently has released his second solo album “Written On The Horizon” on Avenue Of Allies. His first solo album “Nascar” (2009) was sung by Summer in his mother language Portuguese. But don’t be afraid, this second solo album is completely sung in English. Anyway, according to his biography, before Joey Summer started his solo career, he has been in the bands Karma and Arena.

The musicians on this album are Joey Summer (vocals, guitar) of course, Daniel Lamas (keyboards, backing vocals), Markcell (bass) and Renan Martins (drums). And there are also some additional guest musicians on this album. Michael Müller (Jaded Heart) is playing bass on the fantastic song “Anymore”, which was written by fantastic German singer, songwriter Michael Bormann. And on the Street Talk cover “Don’t Believe”, Göran Edman (Street Talk) is doing backing vocals, Fredrik Bergh (Street Talk) plays keyboards and Julio Cezar is playing bass. “Tables Turning ” is also a Street Talk cover. And the last song of the album, “Rough Ride To Paradise”, is a cover of ex-Easy Action and ex-Europe guitarist Kee Marcello.
Wow, this is my hardest review so far. There are so many good elements on this album. There is enough variety in the songs, excellent guitar solos, huge chorusses, great production and I like the cover art. Now you feel the “but” part coming… most songs don’t hit my heart and I wondered why for a long time. I think it is Joey’s voice. I don’t hate it, but it’s too much for a whole album. Imo he should consider to ask some collegue vocalists to sing a few songs or duets for a next album.
Other minor thing about the album are the two Street Talk covers, which aren’t exactly the strongest tracks on the album. They don’t take the album to a higher level and that’s a waste.
Personal highlights on this effort are the bombastic “Anymore” (the first time I heard it I immediately knew it was a Michael Bormann song, the singing is also done in the Bormann-style), the title track “Written On The Horizon” and the mid-tempo Kee Marcello cover “Rough Ride To Paradise”. “Beating” and “Rise Up” are also worth to mention.
Due to the fact that I don’t like Joey’s voice I have to rate this album as a quite average album, and that should’t be necessary. Melodic Rock/AOR fans might love this album anyway because the other important elements for this genre are very well done.
01. Rise Up – written by Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas
02. Anymore – written by Michael Bormann *
03. Written On The Horizon – written by Joey Summer *
04. Don’t Believe (Street Talk cover) – written by Fredrik Bergh / Goran Edman
05. It’s Only Your Love – written by Joey Summer
06. Lorea – written by Joey Summer *
07. I’ll Never Be Alone Again – written by Joey Summer
08. Tables Turning (Street Talk cover) – written by Fredrik Bergh / Goran Edman
09. Beating – written by Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas *
10. Brand New Day – written by Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas
11. Rough Ride To Paradise (Kee Marcello cover) – written by Kee Marcello *

Joey Summer – lead and backing vocals, guitars
Daniel Lamas – keyboards, backing vocals
Markcell – bass
Renan Martins – drums
Additional musicians:
Michael Muller – bass on “Anymore”
Goran Edman – backing vocals on “Don’t Believe”
Fredrik Bergh – keyboards on “Don’t Believe”
Julio Cezar – bass on “Don’t Believe”

Password: Plotn08



Download album from UseNet -14 Days Free Access !

Joey Summer – Written On The Horizon (2010)

More than 800 TB of files are available. Usenet was developed before the Internet and is made up of over 60,000 discussion forums (Newsgroups) on any conceivable topic, in which opinions and files (e.g. videos, MP3s, software, games and erotic contents) can be exchanged.

Buy mp3 or CD or