Here’s an album from Toronto based muso Benson Reid which flew under everyone’s radar during 1992. It appears this one-off effort from Reid had a bit of money thrown at it, with recording and mixing undertaken at top studios: Toronto Recording Workshop, Phase One Studios and Metalworks.

Former Red Rider keyboardist Steve Sexton does most of the honours here, handling keys, programming and production, with The Arrows Doug Macaskill handling guitar parts. Rush maestro Terry Brown handles the mixing and mastering, and it’s a pretty lush affair all round – which will please regular punters of this site.

Most of the melodic Canadian acts from this era, and perhaps from a few years before this, make for good reference points on ‘You Get What You Give’. I’m hearing a dash of Garnett Ford, Glass Tiger, The Breits, Worrall and also the Partland Brothers. As you can imagine, the production and mix is top notch, while the songs take on a AOR crossover country mix, that sub-genre proving to be a popular middle ground during 1991-92 prior to the onset of the Seattle Flannelette brigade! Reid to my way of hearing comes across like a Canadian Van Stephenson, and it’s a indictment that this CD isn’t better known among the community.

1. Real Stories 2:54
2. Slow Dance 4:43
3. Your Touch 3:52
4. My Mind’s Made Up 4:02
5. You Get What You Give 4:34
6. You’ll Be Waiting 3:24
7. Nature’s Way 3:09
8. A Little Bit Of Lovin’ 3:18
9. Right From The Start 3:23
10. Lovely Little Lisa 3:50
11. One Road 3:23
12. Go Crazy Tonight 3:38

Password: Plotn08




From UseNet (more 35 000 TB music store!)
14 Days Free Access - Free 300 GB with full DSL-Broadband Speed!

Buy mp3 or CD or